Glenn’s Final Notes, Day Three

After tenting with Sarah and Kathy, I didn’t think anything could be more exhilarating. I was wrong. A light rain, 20-mile per hour wind, and 77-mile ride was exhilarating! We headed out of town and rode about 10 miles to the first town, where Chris Cakes was serving pancakes in a grain flat. Amazing operation! With all of the wrinkles filled, we hit the road again.

Next we entered a little town, Macksburg, where they were doing skillet throwing. Hey, whatever it takes for entertainment.

Left Macksburg and noticed low air on my back tire. Not good. Glad to see Neil, as I couldn’t get my CO2 cylinder to work. I was Grateful to use his pump. I decided to try and hammer the next 15 miles to try to make it to the next town and the mobile bike shop. The tube was leaking and with only a mile to go I went flat. I was grateful to meet a physics teacher from Galesburg, IL. He helped me put my spare tube on.

Onward to East Peru…I vote this the worst town in IA.

Glad to see St. Charles. Great people, great food. Ran into Lori, Neil, and Sarah, who gave us a good tip on ice cream, which I followed up on after a philly cheese steak and pie. I highly recommend the black raspberry ice cream.

Refueled, the OH crew headed back to the road with 30 to go and starting to tire some. I told Sue Ann I was going to meet 50 people before the end of the day. I met a pediatrician from Louisville; an insurance company employee from New Glarus, WI, Michael Murphy; a lady from HI; team old guys that get fat in the winter; a man riding a recumbent dressed in a banana costume; and a father and daughter. Heading to Indianola I remembered one unchecked item on the bucket list so I headed to a corn field.

With 2 miles to go and the sun finally out, the Love Shack water slide looked inviting but we needed to finish. Crested the last two hills to see the smiling faces of the rest of Team WOW. Thanks to IA for such a fun and amazing event. Thanks to the team members for taking novices like Barb and me. Thanks to our captain, Kathy. That’s all the details you’ll hear because… what happened on RAGBRAI stays on RAGBRAI.

SueAnn and Barb, doing a little bike dancing?
SueAnn and Barb, doing a little bike dancing?
Chris Cakes. Need we say more?
Chris Cakes. Need we say more?
Dinner in Greenfield included a trip to the school cafeteria for some homemade lasagna.
Dinner in Greenfield included a trip to the school cafeteria for some homemade lasagna.
Making a statement, SueAnn and Barb.
Making a statement, SueAnn and Barb.
Sue... heading "home" for the day.
Sue... heading "home" for the day.
Leave a Reply

