Kathy’s Utah Venture, Day 1

Well we had an interesting start to the day but managed to get shuttled into the farthest end of the park by 1 pm. It was a pretty warm day…probably close to 100 heat index, but very clear. I started with a hike to see Tunnel Arch and Pine Tree Arch. Then it was time to do what I came for – bike!

I only had to go five miles to the trail head for Delicate Arch, which is the famous one you see on Utah’s license plate. It was a 1.5 mile hike to the arch…mostly vertical. But it was so worth the trip.

Next was a killer nearly two mile climb. I was so in my granny gears and had hopes that I would not have to walk..but I did.  

After that it was pretty smooth sailing. We had some two+ mile downhills and awesome views. Depending on the time of day or cloud cover, it’s a different view all the time. I’d highly recommend it as a vacation stop.

Tomorrow we have a short day, but I get to see a movie museum – go John Wayne!

Leave a Reply

